2014 ACR Awards of Distinction, Masters & ARHP Merit & Lifetime Achievement Awards Announced

The ACR would like to congratulate all the 2014 Awards of Distinction recipients, the 2014 Class of Masters and the 2014 ARHP Merit and Lifetime Achievement Awards recipients. An awards ceremony was held immediately preceding the opening lecture of the 2014 ACR/ARHP Annual Meeting in Boston. Help us congratulate all of the 2014 award recipients and Masters, with a special thank you to everyone who nominated a colleague.

ACR Awards of Distinction

Presidential Gold Medal

The highest award the ACR can bestow, the Presidential Gold Medal is awarded in recognition of outstanding achievements in rheumatology over an entire career. Established by the past presidents of the ACR, candidates will have made important contributions in multiple areas such as clinical medicine, research, education or administration. Funding support for this award of distinction is provided by the Rheumatology Research Foundation.

Recipient: Joseph D. Croft Jr., MD, MACR
Georgetown University Medical School
Washington, D.C.

Distinguished Basic Investigator Award

Awarded to a basic scientist making outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology.

Recipient: George C. Tsokos, MD Harvard Medical School

Distinguished Clinician Scholar Award

Awarded to a rheumatologist who has made outstanding contributions in clinical medicine, clinical scholarship or education.

Recipient: Murray H. Passo, MDbr> Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, S.C.

Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award

Awarded to a young physician scientist, age 45 or younger, who has made outstanding and promising independent contributions to basic or clinical research in the field of rheumatology.

Recipient: Kevin D. Deane, MD, PhD
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, Colo.

Recipient: Tuhina Neogi, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Boston University Schools of Medicine and Public Health, Boston

Distinguished Clinical Investigator Award

Given to a clinical scientist making outstanding contributions to the field of rheumatology.

Recipient: Graciela S. Alarcón, MD, MPH, MACR
The University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Ala.

Paulding Phelps Award

Given to a clinical rheumatologist for outstanding service to patients, community and the practice of medicine.

Recipient: Herbert S. B. Baraf, MD, MACR
Arthritis and Rheumatism Associates
Wheaton, Md.

Distinguished Service Award

Given to an ACR member for outstanding and sustained service to the ACR.

Recipient: Robert A. Yood, MD
Reliant Medical Group and Saint Vincent Hospital
Worcester, Mass.

Distinguished Fellowship Program Director Award

Given to a current or former rheumatology program director that has made outstanding contributions in the mentoring and training of future rheumatologists.

Recipient:David D. Sherry, MD
University of Pennsylvania

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *